All times are UTC + 8 hours

Post subject: System Upgrade Tips
PostPosted: Oct 28th, '19, 18:54 

Are you human?: Yes
Hi all,

So im fairly new to this whole thing so please bare with me and excuse any terms i may get wrong! Long story short, my lovely wife purchased this system from a certain place North of the river here in Perth (im sure most of you know who it would be based upon the design) and after little to no help from said place i began doing my own research online and attended a very helpful workshop here in Perth! From what i have taken on board and from the things i have read online it seems this particular setup just doesn't quite cut it in terms of a good design. My question to all of you is this.....what can i do to improve the system, i was thinking of adding a sump tank as this would allow me to introduce a SLO as i seem be be acquiring a lot of deposits on the bottom of the fish tank which the pump is struggling to remove. Again any help is greatly appreciated, had this not been a surprise and with what i know now i would have done things a lot differently and avoided a certain shop.
Tank is 1.5m x 1.5m x 60cm Pond
1.5m x 90cm x 30cm Growbed
3,600 Litres per hour Pump

Attachments:
IMG_7594.jpg
IMG_7594.jpg [ 484.27 KiB | Viewed 1966 times ]
    Advertisement

Post subject: Re: System Upgrade Tips
PostPosted: Oct 28th, '19, 23:01 
In need of a life
In need of a life

Are you human?: Yup
Hiya Tyson, welcome to the forum. We’re a workshop right here. ;)
For starters there’s nothing wrong with your system, it looks pretty good to me. Simple and easy to maintain.
How many fish do you have and how big are they? What kind of fish feed do you use?
If you’re getting fish poop then the fish are either too small or too few to stir it up. Or you’re feeding too much.
Improvements? We call them expansions. :headbang:
I started with a similar set up to yours, pift, and that became my hospital tank for my larger system. :shifty:
Yeah I caught the bug.