All times are UTC + 8 hours

PostPosted: Feb 18th, '17, 04:04 

Are you human?: YES
Hey Everyone,

This whole aquaponics technology has captured my imagination. I don't think we choose our problems. I think they choose us. And aquaponics is the one that chose me. I'm a freelance web developer (Ruby on Rails & React, basically aka what AirBnB is built in), and even though I'm not in a position at the moment I can get my own setup running, I do want to start making all the knowledge all over the internet more easy, accessible, and friendly. I think the world deserves to know.

I figure since I'm relatively new, if I build the tools that are useful for me as I go about growing things in my home, they'll be useful for other people, too. So off the bat, I wanted to get a page together just to explain: what is aquaponics? (I need to send this to my housemates :D) And get some useful interactions in there, like a "grow bed calculator" to really drive it home on how your life could be different.

Well - you can see the working draft of the page http://homefare.herokuapp.com/aquaponics

So, the first issue I'm running into is, where can I get data on output of aquaponic setups? You can see what I'm thinking in that explore tool there ( http://homefare.herokuapp.com/aquaponics#explore ) Because aquaponic setups can have varying planting density compared to traditional soil-based methods, I basically need an average per-plant yield rate of whatever it produces. I've reached out to a ton of people (phds, local botanical gardens, really just anyone) but haven't really gotten my hands on any data. And planting density under the hood will need to be a slider (because you can plant closer and further apart), but for this specific tool I'm just gonna use some averages.