All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 151 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 ... 11  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sep 4th, '11, 19:37 
Offline
Almost divorced
Almost divorced
User avatar

Joined: Feb 25th, '07, 21:27
Posts: 1103
Location: Middle Swan, Perth ,W.A
Gender: Male
the only reason i can think of putting in a sump is if you cant get your growbeds higher than the tank for whatever reason

like me :) (no funds :( )
Cheers
pete


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
    Advertisement
 
PostPosted: Sep 4th, '11, 22:04 
Offline
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
User avatar

Joined: Dec 6th, '07, 01:13
Posts: 10699
Images: 0
Location: central FL
Gender: Female
Are you human?: YES at least mostly
Location: USA, Florida, Yalaha
I like having a "clean water sump" for systems where I want to pump to NFT pipes or raft beds. And there is some benefit to having a constant height in fish tank if you want to be able to run really heavy fish loads but it does cost more to have an extra tank.

Each situation will be different so unless your buying a nice pretty kit, you can do all sorts of different things to custom design a system to meet your personal desires and situation/space etc.

And if you don't want to spend all that time figuring out what your desires and situation need designed, there is a lot to be said for buying a tried and true kit.

_________________
Aquaponic Lynx
TCLynx Bought The Farm
Old Main System
Old 300 gallon System


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 5th, '11, 05:05 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Aug 1st, '07, 07:32
Posts: 96
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Delgrade wrote:
the only reason i can think of putting in a sump is if you cant get your growbeds higher than the tank for whatever reason

like me :) (no funds :( )
Cheers
pete


Another purpose for a sump is to collect the solids. (Having the GB drain into the pond and siphon the pond into the sump) I have no sump and my pump will get clogged if I stock my pond heavily. The pump I have is 27watts and ~243GPH at 4ft but it can’t pass solids. I picked it because running 24/7 I wanted something that was low power. I could have used a better pump but then I would need a timer to turn it on and off because of the high electric use.

I so next spring I will put in a sump or a new pump with a timer if I plan on growing a lot of fish.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 5th, '11, 05:53 
Offline
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
User avatar

Joined: Dec 6th, '07, 01:13
Posts: 10699
Images: 0
Location: central FL
Gender: Female
Are you human?: YES at least mostly
Location: USA, Florida, Yalaha
A sump is generally the Lowest point in a system meant to collect water for a pump to return the water to where it needs to go. I don't think I would want to risk siphoning my fish tank into a sump tank since that could result in the water level in the fish tank dropping dangerously low and if the pump is pumping from the sump tank, then siphoning the solids into the sump tank doesn't necessarily protect the pump from the solids.

If you want a "clean water sump" to protect your pump from solids, I would recommend the CHIFT PIST design where the fish tank overflows to the grow beds which drain to the sump tank and the pump lifts water back to the fish tank and the solids are all collected in the grow beds. This has worked very well for me as long as I have a good cover over the sump tank to protect it from falling debris like leaves, sticks, mulch etc that would also clog a pump.

_________________
Aquaponic Lynx
TCLynx Bought The Farm
Old Main System
Old 300 gallon System


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 5th, '11, 21:36 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Aug 1st, '07, 07:32
Posts: 96
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
I didn't think about it enough but I’m guessing it is not a sump but a settling tank that I was think about for a modification to my system. Because it’s so big and I can’t move it I’m stuck with either buying a bigger pump that can move solids or put in a settling tank.


Attachments:
Setup.jpg
Setup.jpg [ 26.13 KiB | Viewed 4121 times ]


Last edited by Bkausfish on Sep 5th, '11, 21:45, edited 1 time in total.
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 5th, '11, 21:41 
Offline
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
User avatar

Joined: Dec 6th, '07, 01:13
Posts: 10699
Images: 0
Location: central FL
Gender: Female
Are you human?: YES at least mostly
Location: USA, Florida, Yalaha
There you go, that makes it a bit clearer.

However, you will have to plumb through the sides of the fish tank and settling tank in order to move the water from one to the other since the way you have drawn it, water and solids won't make the trip but will instead overflow out the top of the tank.

_________________
Aquaponic Lynx
TCLynx Bought The Farm
Old Main System
Old 300 gallon System


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 5th, '11, 21:47 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Aug 1st, '07, 07:32
Posts: 96
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
fixed picture :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 5th, '11, 23:55 
Offline
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
User avatar

Joined: Dec 6th, '07, 01:13
Posts: 10699
Images: 0
Location: central FL
Gender: Female
Are you human?: YES at least mostly
Location: USA, Florida, Yalaha
Very good

_________________
Aquaponic Lynx
TCLynx Bought The Farm
Old Main System
Old 300 gallon System


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 16th, '11, 10:20 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: May 10th, '10, 06:11
Posts: 44
Images: 2
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Melbourne Australia
TCLynx wrote:
yet another CHIFT PIST diagram


what time frames should the pump be on / off for on a 200 lt system?

_________________
Grombo80 aka Russman


Top
 Profile Personal album  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 16th, '11, 10:28 
A Chift Pist system is usually pumped continuously...


Top
  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 16th, '11, 10:40 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mar 24th, '10, 13:00
Posts: 5086
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Daughters think not
Location: Horsham, Victoria, Australia
RupertofOZ wrote:
A Chift Pist system is usually pumped continuously...


Ummm , why. My new system is Chift Pist and timed flood and drain

_________________
IBC system
Bigger system
Greenhouse system


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 16th, '11, 10:42 
Offline
In need of a life
In need of a life
User avatar

Joined: Dec 9th, '08, 03:23
Posts: 1514
Location: Wilmington, North Carolina
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: USA, Wilmington, NC
Mine also... chift pist and timed..... just another variation of a theme... as long as it works...

_________________
Decals by JT - New Website
http://decals-by-jt.wix.com/jt-sign-services

My GH AP System
http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=5259&start=0


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 16th, '11, 10:51 
Not saying it can't be... just saying that the original, and usual design is to pump continuously...


Top
  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 16th, '11, 12:37 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: May 10th, '10, 06:11
Posts: 44
Images: 2
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Melbourne Australia
mantis wrote:
RupertofOZ wrote:
A Chift Pist system is usually pumped continuously...


Ummm , why. My new system is Chift Pist and timed flood and drain


what times do you have it on / off

_________________
Grombo80 aka Russman


Top
 Profile Personal album  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 16th, '11, 13:27 
Offline
Almost divorced
Almost divorced
User avatar

Joined: Feb 25th, '07, 21:27
Posts: 1103
Location: Middle Swan, Perth ,W.A
Gender: Male
mines 15 on 15 off, so that my syphons have time to stop completely ..

though if i had the time and expertice i would make a set of timers that would allow me to set both the off and the on times i estimate that 10 mins on and 12-14 mins off would get me a few more cycles in a day

Cheers
pete


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 151 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 ... 11  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Portal by phpBB3 Portal © phpBB Türkiye
[ Time : 0.079s | 18 Queries | GZIP : Off ]