All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Jan 4th, '07, 14:40 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Jan 4th, '07, 04:00
Posts: 6
Location: Rhode Island
Gender: None specified
Are you human?: yes
Location: usa
I was wondering how difficult it would be to convert an existing tropical (fresh water) aquarium into a simple aquaponic one by simply adding a styrofoam floating board, holding a small split sponge containing lettuce seeds. The sponge would be split, to allow the roots to grow down into the water. Please see the enclosed diagram for a sketch.

Does anyone know if something like this will work? Will the lettuce (or basil or whatever) grow to edible size? Would I need to substitute a plant bulb instead of my existing aquarium fluorescent bulb? Would anything else need to be done?

Has anyone else converted an existing, small (20 gallon) indoor aquarium into an aquaponic one?


Attachments:
Aquarium aquaponics.jpg [63.92 KiB]
Downloaded 3023 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
    Advertisement
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Jan 4th, '07, 14:55 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Dec 21st, '06, 15:57
Posts: 486
Location: melbourne
Gender: Male
The plants will grow directly through the foam. Just put some suitable plants on the top of the foam and let them grow. They will survive without water whilst getting estabilished because the air is saturated. I used to have a lovely PS foam box with a lawn on top because the grass seed grew through and the box was full of water (to stop it blowing away).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Jan 4th, '07, 15:30 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Jun 14th, '06, 19:03
Posts: 5413
Location: Cairns Queensland
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Cairns, Queensland
Steve grew plants atop his aquarium for a while - cant remember if we heard the final outcome of it:? :?
:mrgreen:

_________________
:thumbright: We care enough to help everybody with AP :thumbleft:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jan 4th, '07, 18:49 
Can't remmeber who, but someone in a recent post was using scotch pads and foam trays on top of an aquarium.... did a search

try here DD's System 2007


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Jan 4th, '07, 19:06 
Offline
Spam Assassin (Be afraid!)
Spam Assassin     (Be afraid!)
User avatar

Joined: Aug 24th, '06, 11:50
Posts: 10202
Location: Townsville
Gender: Female
Location: home
No it was Dthawk in El Salvador

_________________
.
.
.
................................................................. . Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Jan 4th, '07, 19:42 
Offline
In need of a life
In need of a life
User avatar

Joined: Jul 20th, '06, 08:36
Posts: 1915
Location: Iowa
Gender: Male
All three are correct?

_________________
John
Hooked on Ponics


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jan 5th, '07, 04:13 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Jan 4th, '07, 04:00
Posts: 6
Location: Rhode Island
Gender: None specified
Are you human?: yes
Location: usa
All,

Thanks for your quick responses. I saw the photos that you recommended and I am encouranged to try this out. I think I will pick up the seeds and foam this weekend for a quick tryout in my aquarium. Thanks again.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Jan 5th, '07, 08:30 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mar 12th, '06, 07:56
Posts: 17789
Images: 4
Location: Perth
Gender: Male
Blog: View Blog (1)
Plants grow very well in foating foam...


Attachments:
IMG_2000 (Medium).jpg
IMG_2000 (Medium).jpg [ 118.39 KiB | Viewed 10422 times ]

_________________
www.havehomewilltravel.com
Life on the road
Top
 Profile Personal album  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Jan 5th, '07, 08:37 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mar 22nd, '06, 00:28
Posts: 12757
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES- kinda
Location: Melb Vic OZ
Joel, you rememinded me.............that lebanese water cress POWERS along once its established, huh?

I might give it a haircut oday and have some salad :)

_________________
The only tool you need is a paperclip


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Jan 5th, '07, 08:58 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Dec 21st, '06, 15:57
Posts: 486
Location: melbourne
Gender: Male
My previous house had a greenhouse with bathtubs, and I had a bunch of plants in grocery boxes floating around. Works a treat, and you can put soil in the box if you want, or cocopeat.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Jan 5th, '07, 09:45 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: May 27th, '06, 04:57
Posts: 6480
Images: 0
Gender: Male
Are you human?: I'm a pleasure droid
Location: Frederick, Maryland
All this talk about putting different things in a box has me thinking of this (NSFW, Saturday Night Live skit from a couple of weeks ago, mentions men's private parts):

http://www.pistolwimp.com/media/55184/

_________________
DD's Landing Page

Plant and fish pictures are money


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Jan 5th, '07, 10:13 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mar 22nd, '06, 00:28
Posts: 12757
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES- kinda
Location: Melb Vic OZ
that was well worth it ;)

now i'm going to be singing it all bloody day ;)

_________________
The only tool you need is a paperclip


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Jan 5th, '07, 10:55 
Offline
Spam Assassin (Be afraid!)
Spam Assassin     (Be afraid!)
User avatar

Joined: Aug 24th, '06, 11:50
Posts: 10202
Location: Townsville
Gender: Female
Location: home
no, we've been watching Aunty Jack (farewell Aunty Jack...) that's what my five-year old is singing!

_________________
.
.
.
................................................................. . Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Jan 5th, '07, 14:29 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Oct 14th, '06, 11:44
Posts: 52
Location: ~ 4200KM away from Perth (as measured in google earth)
Gender: Male
well my system is run almost fully on my disused aquarium stuffs (apart from the growbed that act as the biofilter)

http://backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=961

but i use natural sunlight instead of aquarium lighting.

_________________
Ignore my signature, I'm not worthy.
but if you really do care to visit my homepage it's here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Nov 10th, '17, 15:49 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Nov 10th, '17, 15:21
Posts: 11
Location: 21-31 Hives Road North Maclean Qld 4280, Australia
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: North Maclean, Queensland, Australia
Yes, we can convert an existing aquarium into an aquaponic system. It's quite easy to establish as compare to set up a new aquaponic system. We can save a lot of money by converting aquarium into an aquaponic one.

_________________
Regards,
Murray Hallam
Consultant in Queensland


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Portal by phpBB3 Portal © phpBB Türkiye
[ Time : 0.206s | 18 Queries | GZIP : Off ]