Backyard Aquaponics
http://backyardaquaponics.com/forum/

cycling without fish in gran canaria.
http://backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=29633
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Shaunohara11 [ Apr 13th, '18, 01:27 ]
Post subject:  cycling without fish in gran canaria.

i have a small system(2000l, 900l ibc, 2 filters of 300l and 2 rafts of 400l). I started cycling without fish 7 days ago. I managed to obtain a bottle of ammonia, 12%, but it has traces of chlorine(ppm). When I saw the chlorine part, I decided to use fermented urine. as the ammonia source.
So far, the nitrites levels are between 0.25 and 1mg/l(using the api test kit) , the ammonia is between 0.25 and 0.5 mg/l.
From what I have read, it is quicker to cycle without fish. I havent added plants yet, though. Temperature at midday is 17Âșc.
Can I use the ammonia with trace chlorine at all?

Author:  scotty435 [ Apr 13th, '18, 06:28 ]
Post subject:  Re: cycling without fish in gran canaria.

Shaunohara11 wrote:
Can I use the ammonia with trace chlorine at all?


Probably will be OK if you let the portion you wanted to use sit out in the sun for a day or two. I'd mix it with some water and then just let it sit before adding to the system. If you don't do this you'll likely kill the organisms you're trying to get started.

Out of curiosity does it say chlorine or chloride?

Author:  Shaunohara11 [ Apr 15th, '18, 03:28 ]
Post subject:  Re: cycling without fish in gran canaria.

Chloride. In spanish chloruros

Author:  scotty435 [ Apr 15th, '18, 03:52 ]
Post subject:  Re: cycling without fish in gran canaria.

A trace of Chloride shouldn't be a problem.

Author:  Shaunohara11 [ Apr 20th, '18, 00:42 ]
Post subject:  Re: cycling without fish in gran canaria.

scotty435 wrote:
A trace of Chloride shouldn't be a problem.
Image

Enviado desde mi SM-G920F mediante Tapatalk

Author:  scotty435 [ Apr 20th, '18, 02:30 ]
Post subject:  Re: cycling without fish in gran canaria.

You can use this Ammonia if you want to. It looks like it doesn't contain detergent or chlorine. Chloride is not a problem. Go ahead and get your plants started as well.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC + 8 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/