All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 98 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Nov 18th, '06, 17:52 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mar 22nd, '06, 00:28
Posts: 12757
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES- kinda
Location: Melb Vic OZ
Dunno on the composition, but if i might add an "airy-fairy" comment?

Any time you feed a diet of "exclusivly" anything i reckon you're asking for trouble. i'd definatly set up some sort of bug attractant and feed green leaves also. Balance and variety is good.

Thast my 2 cents ;)

LOL

Steve

_________________
The only tool you need is a paperclip


Top
 Profile  
 
    Advertisement
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Nov 18th, '06, 17:56 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mar 12th, '06, 07:56
Posts: 16160
Images: 3
Location: Perth
Gender: Male
Blog: View Blog (1)
Airy-Fairy is unlike you Steve..... :D

_________________
www.backyardaquaponics.com
Bringing Food Production Home


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Nov 18th, '06, 17:59 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mar 18th, '06, 09:41
Posts: 9072
Location: Brisbane
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Brisbane
Following Murray's lead, I through some leaves from my grow-bed into the tank last night - silverbeeet. Perch have eaten most of it. The stalk is still floating.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mar 18th, '07, 16:23 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Jun 14th, '06, 19:03
Posts: 5413
Location: Cairns Queensland
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Cairns, Queensland
Was thinking over the portable systems some people have mentioned wanting to make and I wish there were around - they would have been PERFECT for our mariene studs kids... Just picture it, stock 3 or 4 identical systems with different numbers of the same fish, or the same number of a different species of fish... then record water quality and growth rates of plants.. all modular and neatly lined up next to one-another.

_________________
:thumbright: We care enough to help everybody with AP :thumbleft:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mar 19th, '07, 08:04 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Nov 16th, '06, 05:17
Posts: 416
Location: Kairi, Atherton, Cairns, Qld
Gender: Male
Please correct my logic...

The whole ratio 100lt Water : 200 Ltr of growbed only applies if you have 6 kg of fish per 100 ltr?

If thats the case if your only stocking say 3 kg of fish, then you would have half the efluent.

In this case, you would need only have the grow bed volume required, though have to keep in mind that if you want more fish, you would need to expand your grow bed...

Hows my logic? Im trying to put this to teachers...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mar 19th, '07, 08:32 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mar 12th, '06, 07:56
Posts: 16160
Images: 3
Location: Perth
Gender: Male
Blog: View Blog (1)
Thats correct Mc :rr:

The amount of fish you can have in a system relates directly to the amount of growbed are you you have... :)

_________________
www.backyardaquaponics.com
Bringing Food Production Home


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
PostPosted: Mar 19th, '07, 08:38 
Offline
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
User avatar

Joined: Nov 16th, '06, 08:44
Posts: 27177
Location: Gerringong
Gender: Male
Location: NSW Australia
Quote:
The whole ratio 100lt Water : 200 Ltr of growbed only applies if you have 6 kg of fish per 100 ltr?

If thats the case if your only stocking say 3 kg of fish, then you would have half the efluent.


Bear in mind Mc :rr: the 1:2 ratio @6kg/100ltr are probably the maximum managable figures....

Halving them still means that you are operating at maximum managable levels....

If you are intending to implement school projects then perhaps a slightly larger margin of error should be designed in, particularly if you are going to be using "smaller" tanks

Thoughts from others???


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mar 19th, '07, 08:45 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: May 25th, '06, 07:52
Posts: 6856
Location: adelaide hills
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Adelaide Hills
Mc :rr: remember if you halve the growbed volume and have corresponding lower levels of fish stocking, you will still be maxing out, and on the edge. ie big variances in feed levels will test your system to its limits.
ie 3kgs of fish per 100 litres in a system with a 1:1 ratio is peaking. You would be better to halve that to be really safe IMHO :D

_________________
www.thefishfarm.com.au


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mar 19th, '07, 15:24 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mar 22nd, '06, 00:28
Posts: 12757
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES- kinda
Location: Melb Vic OZ
you know we're eventually going to drop the Mc and just call you :rr: ?

Yep they're all right, including you!

_________________
The only tool you need is a paperclip


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mar 19th, '07, 15:29 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Nov 16th, '06, 05:17
Posts: 416
Location: Kairi, Atherton, Cairns, Qld
Gender: Male
ok, so a 1ooltr water to 100ltr growbed, but instead of having 3 kg of fish, have 2 kg instead...

So a 1000 ltr system would have a growbed 1 mt wide * 3 meters long (in keeping with 1:1 system), then instead of planning for 3o kg (30 eventually), lets stick with 20 kg so 20 barra fingerlings would be needed.

In keeping with that - a 500 ltr system with a 1.5 mtr growbed 1 metre wide with 10 barra fingerlings..

Hows my maths now? would that seem like a safe syste,... spec for the growbeds?

Mc :rr:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mar 19th, '07, 16:57 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Jun 14th, '06, 19:03
Posts: 5413
Location: Cairns Queensland
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Cairns, Queensland
MCPHRO wrote:
ok, so a 1ooltr water to 100ltr growbed, but instead of having 3 kg of fish, have 2 kg instead...

So a 1000 ltr system would have a growbed 1 mt wide * 3 meters long (in keeping with 1:1 system), then instead of planning for 3o kg (30 eventually), lets stick with 20 kg so 20 barra fingerlings would be needed.

In keeping with that - a 500 ltr system with a 1.5 mtr growbed 1 metre wide with 10 barra fingerlings..

Hows my maths now? would that seem like a safe syste,... spec for the growbeds?

Mc :rr:


What the.. I went in to fix the quote in Mc :rr: 's previous post and it then landed up as my post... :?: :?: :?:

_________________
:thumbright: We care enough to help everybody with AP :thumbleft:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mar 19th, '07, 17:26 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: May 25th, '06, 07:52
Posts: 6856
Location: adelaide hills
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Adelaide Hills
aim to grow them to 500 grams and you can have twice as many fish LOL

_________________
www.thefishfarm.com.au


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mar 19th, '07, 18:15 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God
User avatar

Joined: Feb 23rd, '07, 03:48
Posts: 3292
Location: Lyonville Victoria
Gender: Male
Hi Mc (how do you do that)

I had a lot of questions that were similar. Steeve and a few others really helped with some answers in the:

http://backyardaquaponics.com/forum/vie ... php?t=1266

Grow bed media - depth discussions

Thats my first link so I hope it works.

Stuart


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mar 19th, '07, 18:16 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mar 22nd, '06, 00:28
Posts: 12757
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES- kinda
Location: Melb Vic OZ
Quote:
What the.. I went in to fix the quote in Mc :rr: 's previous post and it then landed up as my post...


Need to hone your MOD skills AM ;)

_________________
The only tool you need is a paperclip


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mar 19th, '07, 18:24 
Offline
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
User avatar

Joined: Nov 16th, '06, 08:44
Posts: 27177
Location: Gerringong
Gender: Male
Location: NSW Australia
Stuart to get the :rr: .... type Mc then leave a space the type "colonrrcolon".... thats ":" then "rr" then ":"
... without the quotes ...

i.e Mc :rr:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 98 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Portal by phpBB3 Portal © phpBB Türkiye
[ Time : 0.584s | 18 Queries | GZIP : Off ]