All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 125 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 9  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Feb 4th, '14, 02:19 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Aug 26th, '10, 07:17
Posts: 8865
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Oregon, USA
Johny5 wrote:
Those DO readings are temperature compensated so Iam not sure just what that is. I suspect that the real DO is a lot lower. Or the other idea is that the probes detects the DO as a lower reading due to the temp then corrects it to the correct value.

Can anyone clarify this please?


I'm not sure about this but I think it's one of two things -

1. Water and the ions it contains, conduct electricity more easily at some temps than others so you have to compensate for this or you'd get a false reading.

2. Electrodes (being imperfect) don't read accurately over the entire range necessary but they are consistent in how far off they are at any given temperature so you can compensate for it.

If the meter says it is automatic temperature compensated then it's measuring the temp as well as the DO, then it's adjusting based on the temperature to give you the corrected (true) DO reading. These are just guesses after doing a bit of reading so take them as such.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
    Advertisement
 
PostPosted: Apr 15th, '14, 20:30 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God
User avatar

Joined: Dec 12th, '13, 18:34
Posts: 3846
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: Adelaide
Hi Johny.

How's the system going?

Do you have the DO sensor in constantly? Or take it in and out?

Looks fantastic BTW :)

_________________
My System

My Aquaponic Youtube Channel

The Black-Byron Ice Creamery Youtube Channel


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Apr 15th, '14, 21:08 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Feb 9th, '13, 15:36
Posts: 423
Images: 0
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: Gawler South, South Australia
Thanks Columnmn.

It is going well. The DO probe is submerged 24*7 and I only take it to calibrate every few months.

Though having said that I have just picked up some new fish pellets but did not realize that they are sinking pellets. A real pain as the SOL gets them is they hit the bottom at all.

So a more controlled feeding is now required.

_________________
Bernhard

System MKII
System thread

Datalogger

220L system II


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Apr 16th, '14, 02:54 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God
User avatar

Joined: Dec 12th, '13, 18:34
Posts: 3846
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: Adelaide
Do the results change much after each calibration? I'm just curious if the bio-film muddles up the results.

Which DO sensor did you end up getting?

_________________
My System

My Aquaponic Youtube Channel

The Black-Byron Ice Creamery Youtube Channel


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Apr 17th, '14, 17:23 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Feb 9th, '13, 15:36
Posts: 423
Images: 0
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: Gawler South, South Australia
Sorry Columnmn busy day. I will check on the weekend to see how it goes.

_________________
Bernhard

System MKII
System thread

Datalogger

220L system II


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Apr 18th, '14, 14:34 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Feb 9th, '13, 15:36
Posts: 423
Images: 0
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: Gawler South, South Australia
Columnmn the DO test.

Atlas Scientific DO probe & DO circuit board.
Running over 4 months now fully immersed in the trout tank 24 * 7.
DO before recalibrating : 9.03
After recalibration : 9.78

The interesting thing is that immediately after recalibration the reading was 4.89 and it took quite some time to come back up again.

The probe is sent a DO request every 5 minutes and is given the tank temp at the time of the request.

_________________
Bernhard

System MKII
System thread

Datalogger

220L system II


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Apr 18th, '14, 15:29 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God
User avatar

Joined: Dec 12th, '13, 18:34
Posts: 3846
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: Adelaide
Does the DO vary during the day much? Or just a constant number?

Where did you get it from?

Thanks for the info BTW :)

_________________
My System

My Aquaponic Youtube Channel

The Black-Byron Ice Creamery Youtube Channel


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Apr 18th, '14, 20:44 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Feb 9th, '13, 15:36
Posts: 423
Images: 0
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: Gawler South, South Australia
The DO will vary by about 1.5 - 2.0 during a 24 hr period. Unless it suddenly gets really hot then it will show a larger swing.

The DO probe is from Atlas Scientific http://www.atlas-scientific.com. I have just purchased the PH probe and Multi Circuit UART Carrier Board. The board will allow 4 probes and control boards to be connected via one serial interface.

It works very well.


Attachments:
Daily Log.jpg
Daily Log.jpg [ 172.83 KiB | Viewed 2101 times ]

_________________
Bernhard

System MKII
System thread

Datalogger

220L system II
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Apr 18th, '14, 21:27 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God
User avatar

Joined: Dec 12th, '13, 18:34
Posts: 3846
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: Adelaide
The prices of the PH sensors are coming down. I'm quite tempted...

But I should buy both if the postage is that much.

*ponders*

_________________
My System

My Aquaponic Youtube Channel

The Black-Byron Ice Creamery Youtube Channel


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Apr 18th, '14, 21:45 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec 20th, '07, 04:29
Posts: 711
Images: 23
Gender: Female
Are you human?: Take me 2 ur leader
Location: Minnesota, US
I know nothing about DO probes, but during my training the lead guy said that the probe has to be kept moving a bit to get an accurate reading. He just bobbed it up and down a few inches.

Anyone know anything about that? :raisedeyebrow:

_________________
º Karen Swanberg, of
Howling Moose Gardens:
BYAP thread | Webpage | Blog | Photo Album 2014 | Twitter


Top
 Profile Personal album  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Apr 19th, '14, 00:40 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Nov 6th, '11, 10:04
Posts: 5100
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Humans err, I Arrr!
Location: Chula Vista, CA, USA
Wow! I can not believe that I haven't at least commented on this thread so I can watch it every time there is an update! Maybe you can bring DO testing to the masses!

_________________
What answers I can question for you?

My Patio System

My Indoor System

No single drop of rain believes it is responsible for the flood.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Apr 19th, '14, 02:49 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Feb 22nd, '13, 04:35
Posts: 276
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Could you say what units the DO readings are?

_________________
Gene




My system. http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum ... 18&t=15688


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Apr 19th, '14, 07:26 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Feb 9th, '13, 15:36
Posts: 423
Images: 0
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: Gawler South, South Australia
Gene the DO probe reads in mg/L straight of the probe.

swanberg wrote:
I know nothing about DO probes, but during my training the lead guy said that the probe has to be kept moving a bit to get an accurate reading. He just bobbed it up and down a few inches.

Anyone know anything about that? :raisedeyebrow:


Yes you need to keep water movement going past the probe. I have quite a bit of rotational water movement going past the static probe.

Once I get the PH probe I will have to pull down the the current setup for updating and will put up some photo and specs. They are quite easy to implement with just a call on the serial interface.

_________________
Bernhard

System MKII
System thread

Datalogger

220L system II


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Apr 19th, '14, 10:51 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God
User avatar

Joined: Dec 12th, '13, 18:34
Posts: 3846
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: Adelaide
You've ordered the PH probe too?

Awesome, I'll let you be the guinea pig to see how well it works :D

Have you thought about hooking it up to the web like xively? It'll log and graph it all for you. All the libraries are there and easy enough to use also.

_________________
My System

My Aquaponic Youtube Channel

The Black-Byron Ice Creamery Youtube Channel


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Apr 19th, '14, 12:20 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Feb 9th, '13, 15:36
Posts: 423
Images: 0
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: Gawler South, South Australia
Columnmn you can call me paranoid if you like but I dislike sending data to third parties that includes any form of the Cloud.

All the data is stored on my server locally and can be viewed via an small program but I should get on with producing a web interface over Easter so I can see if things are working remotely.

Might a well start now.

_________________
Bernhard

System MKII
System thread

Datalogger

220L system II


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 125 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 9  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Portal by phpBB3 Portal © phpBB Türkiye
[ Time : 0.097s | 18 Queries | GZIP : Off ]