All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 67 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Oct 20th, '07, 23:09 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: May 17th, '07, 17:19
Posts: 34
Location: brisbane
Gender: Male
i have a standard ph test kit, is that the one?

its at 6.8 as we speak. i also put my tank heater in which i hadnt had in since i had tropicals a few years back cause i read it should be at 25 degrees and it was at 20 degrees when i put the system in

sorry i should of read more on the subject so im not completely sure what im doing... id love to spend hours searchin the site but there is soooo much to take in as a noob!!! so much it get confusing sometimes


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
    Advertisement
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Oct 20th, '07, 23:13 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: May 17th, '07, 17:19
Posts: 34
Location: brisbane
Gender: Male
my pump is just a cheapo bunnings one, i think i payed 15-20 bucks for it.. i hope it doesnt clog...

is there a pump u can recommend that wont clog thats used for pumping liquids plus grit and shit?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Oct 20th, '07, 23:20 
You really need to be able to test for ammonia, nitrites and nitrates....

Definitely ammonia....


Top
  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Oct 21st, '07, 14:15 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: May 17th, '07, 17:19
Posts: 34
Location: brisbane
Gender: Male
i did a search for test kits on here and came across this as a popular choice

http://www.theaquariumshop.com.au/shope ... r+Test+Kit

when testing for nitrates and nitrites, (im assuming its done exactly the same as ph test kits) is there a "nitrate up nitrate down" powder or liquid to change the levels like ph kits?
thanks

chookshit


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Oct 21st, '07, 20:41 
That's the one most of us use chookshit..... liquid reagants for each test supplied in their own bottles.... just add to measured amount of water

Compare resulting colour against provided colour strips to ascertain test result....

Over 700 tests/kit.... Instructions on the box :D


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Oct 21st, '07, 21:14 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mar 22nd, '06, 00:28
Posts: 12757
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES- kinda
Location: Melb Vic OZ
chooka,

nitrate up is feed fish more or more fish.
nitrate down is plant more plants or feed fish less ;)

_________________
The only tool you need is a paperclip


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Oct 21st, '07, 21:20 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: May 17th, '07, 17:19
Posts: 34
Location: brisbane
Gender: Male
ahhhh...
im going to give this a proper go.
might be small but im enjoying it. a bit like masturbation


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Oct 21st, '07, 21:27 
Offline
In need of a life
In need of a life
User avatar

Joined: Aug 13th, '06, 14:43
Posts: 1854
Gender: Male
Location: Narre Warren, VIC,OZ Earth
i hear ya bro ;)

_________________
"have you ever seen a one legged man try to dance his way free...if you've seen a one legged man you've seen me"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Oct 21st, '07, 21:31 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mar 22nd, '06, 00:28
Posts: 12757
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES- kinda
Location: Melb Vic OZ
lol, now we have cheech AND chong!

_________________
The only tool you need is a paperclip


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Oct 22nd, '07, 13:44 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: May 17th, '07, 17:19
Posts: 34
Location: brisbane
Gender: Male
hello people.. i went out today and bought a freshwater master test kit

Image


i tested everything and it was quite tragic...

amoinia 8.0
nitrite 0.5
nitrate 160

Image


so this is quite tragic indeed..
so far ive learnt that to keep the amonia levels down, feed the fish less..

what do i do about all this???

edit to resize massive photos


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Oct 22nd, '07, 14:14 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mar 22nd, '06, 00:28
Posts: 12757
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES- kinda
Location: Melb Vic OZ
CS, you said you've had the aquarium going for years? did you ever have any sort of filter in it??

If you did then you should have left it in there while your gravel in your AP breeds bacteria.

If you haven't then thank goodness you have goldfish!

i'd probably do a 50% water change with de-chlorinated water at the very least. Make sure you dont raise the PH.

If you had a cannister filter on the tank and have removed it, don't worry about putting it back now as it will be next to useless, the bacteria will be dead.

_________________
The only tool you need is a paperclip


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Oct 22nd, '07, 14:29 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: May 17th, '07, 17:19
Posts: 34
Location: brisbane
Gender: Male
i did have a filter, i scraped the gunk, slime and water off it onto the gravel when i began the system.

ill do a water change from the rainwater tank..
my strawberry plants seem to be doing very well, lots of new growth and leaves opening up

anything else i can do to lower these problems?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Oct 22nd, '07, 15:14 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mar 22nd, '06, 00:28
Posts: 12757
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES- kinda
Location: Melb Vic OZ
not to worry. i would have either kept it online or moved the bio-media into thye pipe.

not much info here on straight swap over from aquarium. all will be good.

1) do 3 50% water changes over 3 days(put the water onto your favourite outdoor plant ;) That will bring your ammonia down to 1ppm (2pm if you have chloramine in your water (which i think brissy does) dont forget to use water ager or de-chlorinator

2) Put your goldies on severe food rations. they'll be fine :)

_________________
The only tool you need is a paperclip


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Oct 22nd, '07, 15:34 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: May 17th, '07, 17:19
Posts: 34
Location: brisbane
Gender: Male
ah excellent, i did a 50% water change with my precious tank water and thankfully the ph was the same.
yep the dirt garden got a good feed of fishtank water..

so doing all this will fix my nitrate and nitrite problems also???

thanks mate


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Oct 22nd, '07, 15:42 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mar 22nd, '06, 00:28
Posts: 12757
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES- kinda
Location: Melb Vic OZ
yes. each time you do a 50% change your levels will reduce by half.

feed minimally if at all until you get a feel for what your levels will do

_________________
The only tool you need is a paperclip


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 67 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Portal by phpBB3 Portal © phpBB Türkiye
[ Time : 0.082s | 18 Queries | GZIP : Off ]