All times are UTC + 8 hours

Post subject: Thomas' indoor system
PostPosted: Aug 29th, '16, 22:38 
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend

Are you human?: I'm a metal machine!
Been a while since I've been on this forum, but I'm still very much into aquaponics!

In 2007, I built a small AP system in my father's backyard (thread). It didn't perform too well on the plant side, probably due to a low amount of sunlight. Maintenance however was very low and it did produce quite some strawberries multiple times a year. I moved out of my father's place and the system is no longer running since last year.

Recently I did my BSc-thesis on modelling the nitrogen cycles and greenhouse climate of the INAPRO-aquaponic system. An article on my model was published last month. :shock: I'm now in my Master's, and for an internship, I also worked on aquaponics after another BYAP member recommended me (thanks Ichsani!). I just finished the internship at the FishGlassHouse of Rostock University (Germany). Their research system houses some 2000 African catfish and 600 m² of hydroponic cabins. I managed the RAS system, I researched the effect of intensive and extensive aquaponics water vs artificially fertilised water on potted basil and mint plants, and I did a small research on filtration by freshwater mussels.

Back home from the internship, I decided that I want an aquaponics system of my own again. I managed to convince my house mates in the student house and now I'm building an indoor system. :D

The fish loop will consist of a 120 liter aquarium with tilapia on top, overflowing into a 7 liter static upflow filter (SUF) with small plastic balls, then flowing down to a trickling filter with larger plastic balls and finally into a 45 liter sump before being pumped back to the fish. I hope to make the SUF self-cleaning with an airline and an actuated valve, dumping the accumulated sludge daily into a biosand filter.