All times are UTC + 8 hours

PostPosted: Jan 8th, '12, 04:07 

Are you human?: Yes
Aquaponics newbie here. Researching what fish is preferred for northwest Florida. Would like a fish with good omega-3 qualities, does not eat young and is suitable to local climate.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk

Advertisement

PostPosted: Mar 25th, '12, 23:01 

Are you human?: yes
i

PostPosted: Mar 28th, '12, 23:15 

Hey Jedi, I am in Pensacola, where are you?

PostPosted: Mar 29th, '12, 05:03 
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor

Howdy pcjedi
I think you are going to be kinda limited on the fish you grow in the climate you are in. Unless you have some sort of climate control. It is to cold for tilapia and will be to hot for trout and such. I think you might be stuck with bream or catfish. I would check around to see what the local pond guys are growing and grow something native. I can tell you from experience that heating and cooling becomes expensive really quick. Where are north florida are you??

PostPosted: Mar 29th, '12, 21:06 

I would like to start an AP group in the Pensacola area. Would anybody be interested to talk face to face and experience each others systems and such?

I would like to get some bluegill when I expand to a medium system. But 100 BG fingerlings may be a bit more than I can handle. And thats the minimum order around here.

PostPosted: Mar 30th, '12, 03:26 
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor

i wish I could join you guys up there but I am in the Gainseville area and as such am a bit far

PostPosted: Mar 30th, '12, 20:47 

Would love to have you, I am sure we still can have a strong group even though we might be scattered all over.

PostPosted: Mar 30th, '12, 21:08 
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor

If you keep looking around the forum you should find quite a few people in your area. There are a lot of florida members on here. I wish you the best of luck with you group.

PostPosted: May 16th, '12, 09:10 

Are you human?: no