All times are UTC + 8 hours

Post subject: stocking density
PostPosted: Sep 22nd, '15, 09:52 

Are you human?: yes
hi, i am new to aquaponics and i started to build a system with a capacity of 60 gallons, including my rafts and fish tank. my fish tank capacity is 35 gallons. so i would appreciate your help by telling how many tilapias can i have in my fish tank and how to not overrun it with fish.
and any recommendation is appreciated.
thanks

Advertisement

Post subject: Re: stocking density
PostPosted: Sep 22nd, '15, 12:48 
A posting God
A posting God

Are you human?: Yes
Have a read through the IBC of Aquaponics at the top of this page, it'll go through the basics you need.

But you need to work it off the amount of filtration you have, eg, growbeds.

So if you've got 25L of wet media, it'll be enough filtration for 1 fish grown to 500g.

My Aquaponic Youtube Channel

The Black-Byron Ice Creamery Youtube Channel

PostPosted: Sep 22nd, '15, 14:30 

Are you human?: YES
Hi there.. Please give some more details as to how you plan to handle fish Solids... Filters... If so which? Do you plan to include media beds with stone or clay pellets? Just using Rafts means your plant roots will become clogged with fish Solids and then you will sit with root rot, as well as come to a point where Ammonia, pH and everything else will build up to points where you will need to drain water, thus no more Aquaponics... Just plain Aquaculture
Easiest way would be to design with GrowBeds in mind, at least one with about 2 wheelbarrows full of 20mm (3/4") gravel. Either an old bathtub, or build a wood frame and line with Pond liner, best might be the food grade IBC cut in 350mm deep tubs approach, and then planted with things like Chard, Basil, chat vessels, rocket, etc. From there then distribute the filtered and Nitrate rich water to your Rafts.
Doing it this way, you can stock with about one Tilapia fingerling per 2 gallons of Fishtank water
HTH

PostPosted: Sep 22nd, '15, 19:00