All times are UTC + 8 hours

PostPosted: Oct 14th, '16, 02:35 

Are you human?: Yes
I'm new to aquaponics and I was wondering what the laws and regulations are in Tyler tx for kepping tilapia. I want to grow tilapia so I can breed them and eat them. Does the game wardens have to inspect my system? Even if it's for personal use only? Any help would be great!

Advertisement

PostPosted: Oct 14th, '16, 07:07 
Legend Member
Legend Member

Are you human?: YES
Hi Briktorian,

Briktorian wrote:
I'm new to aquaponics and I was wondering what the laws and regulations are in Tyler tx for kepping tilapia. I want to grow tilapia so I can breed them and eat them. Does the game wardens have to inspect my system? Even if it's for personal use only? Any help would be great!

There are a good number of Texas folks doing aquaponics, so they can probably chime in with their personal experiences on this, but here is a little of what 2 pertinent agencies in Texas have to say about it:

https://texasagriculture.gov/RegulatoryPrograms/Aquaculture.aspx
Texas Department of Agriculture wrote:
Regulatory Programs > Aquaculture

Aquaculture

The Texas Department of Agriculture coordinates the licensing of aquaculture facilities and vehicles transporting (live) cultured species, in partnership with the Texas Parks & Wildlife Department and the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality.

Who needs to be licensed?

Aquaculture Facility
A business that produces and sells cultured species raised in a private facility
must obtain an aquaculture license from TDA.

Aquaculture Fish Farm Vehicle
If you plan to transport and sell farmed fish or shellfish from your vehicle, you must obtain a license for it.
You must keep a copy of this license in the vehicle.

And...

https://tpwd.texas.gov/huntwild/wild/species/exotic/prohibited_aquatic.phtml
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department wrote:
Invasive, Prohibited and Exotic Species