All times are UTC + 8 hours

Post subject: Brown trout vs Rainbow
PostPosted: Feb 2nd, '17, 21:41 
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Are you human?: yes
I was wondering if anyone had thoughts or information about if one is superior to the other in aquaponics. I live in vermont where its pretty cool but we do have some really hot days here and there. I am hoping for a more adaptable fish.

Advertisement

PostPosted: Feb 3rd, '17, 00:14 
A posting God
A posting God

Are you human?: Series of particles
We have Brook trout since we began our 2600 gallon AP back in October of 2015. I'm no expert but I did get advice from professionals. Here is what I learned: Brook Trout like fast moving cold water. While our AP water got warmer than it should have 69°F this Summer they stayed active. They appeared to be doing fine even with a month of outrageously hot weather this year. . That said ours are going into their second season with no serious issues. "Brookies are a cold-water species, although they can tolerate a large range of temperatures from 0 – 22°C, but prefer 13 - 18°C. " (54°F to 71°F) From http://easternbrooktrout.org/groups/whitewater-to-bluewater/species-spotlight/brook-trout-salvelinus-fontinalis
I think Brook trout are the prettiest of the North American Trout. They also come in blond or golden.
Attachment:
Brook-trout-off-the-Web.jpg
Brook-trout-off-the-Web.jpg [ 67.95 KiB | Viewed 4302 times ]

Here is another research paper on Brook trout you may find helpful. http://www.nwrc.usgs.gov/wdb/pub/hsi/hsi-024.pdf
I've recently added four times the amount of air to our tank and this is the most active I have seen them since the beginning. I think the like lots of oxygen and lots of water movement.
I hope this helps.

PostPosted: Feb 3rd, '17, 16:36 
Legend Member
Legend Member

Are you human?: YES