All times are UTC + 8 hours

PostPosted: Apr 16th, '16, 08:07 

Are you human?: YES
Hello all! I am new to aquaponics (although not fishkeeping), but I did my research and hooked up a DIY aquaponic system to my 32 gallon goldfish tank. The growbed is a 10 gallon tank I got in a sale (20"X10"X12"). I used a DIY PVC overflow to drain the water to the growbed since it is lower than my fish tank and I can't drill it. The water is sent back via a pump on the other side of the growbed. This is a continuous flood system with the water level about 4 inches below the surface. I planted some cherry tomato seeds in there and about 6 of them sprouted in a week. I realize that a 10 gallon tank is not going hold 6 tomatoes since they would probably get fairly large. Do anyone know how many tomato plants I could have space wise in my growbed? I have 2 fancy goldfish who are both heavy poopers in the tank. I also have tons of invert and ottos to control algae. Also, how far apart should the tomato plants be?
Help is appreciated! :D :D :D

Advertisement

PostPosted: Apr 16th, '16, 10:30 

Welcome to the forum LWormy :wave:

:think: hmm, there really isn't enough information to answer your question. Are you trying to grow Determinate or Indeterminate tomatoes, full size plants or dwarf, under lights or outside. The type of food your feeding makes a difference as well as the size of the goldfish. I think you should start with one tomato plant or maybe two but plan on culling the second one if the first one does OK. There might not be enough nutrients for two tomato plants and unless you can spread them out when full grown you might not have enough light.

PostPosted: Apr 16th, '16, 10:33 
Site Admin
Site Admin

Blog: View Blog (1)
Yep, you'd just want one tomato plant there..

This was one or perhaps two tomato plants in one of my systems a few years back.

Profile Personal album  
PostPosted: Apr 16th, '16, 12:11 
A posting God
A posting God

Are you human?: Not before 8am