All times are UTC + 8 hours

PostPosted: Apr 22nd, '16, 12:24 

Are you human?: yes
Hello everyone! I'm new to aquaponics and currently have one DIY system running with another larger system about a week into the cycling process. My first system is a fifteen gallon flood and drain that's been running for about 2 months now. Unfortunately, I have been having recurring issues with my plant health since I first planted some basil and mint in the grow bed during the cycling process. Over the course of a few weeks, the plants developed brown splotches that slowly turned a shiny, silvery color. Initially, I thought it was due to a high pH of about 8.0, fluctuating nutrient levels, or other normal stressors from the cycling process. However, once the system was fully cycled and I replaced the dead basil and mint plants with new ones, I encountered the same issue. Bellow are pictures of my system and the two afflicted basil plants I took out a few days ago. After doing some research, I think it's either a fungus or severe nutrient deficiency, but I'm not sure. Here are my water test results if they are of any help:

pH: 7.8
Ammonia: 0
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: 160 ppm

Thank you!

Attachments:
File comment: Diseased basil plants
IMG_0512.JPG
IMG_0512.JPG [ 124.86 KiB | Viewed 1684 times ]
    Advertisement

PostPosted: Apr 22nd, '16, 12:49 

Are you human?: YES
Basil doesn't really like cool temps and I think the water temp might be too cool where you are for the basil to be in AP.

If you try again take pictures of what happens. We need to know which part of the plant is affected first and how it's affected especially for the deficiency issues.