All times are UTC + 8 hours

PostPosted: Dec 14th, '10, 09:03 

Are you human?: mainly
Hi All, i'm new to this forum, bit old & forgetful, so with that in mind if i ramble on a bit forgive me, but seeing i'm just starting out growing fish instead of wild catching for last 60 years, heres a tip that may make all your hard work & time raising fish & crawlies more enjoyable when time to eat. please remember these r my tips as i see it, not scientificly proven facts - just my opinions so please feel free to disagree if u have other experiences.
the main difference from my sense of taste between fresh & salt water raised seafood is simply the lack of salt they grew in. sometimes u might buy imported prawns, look good, flesh is clean & firm, but no flavour - u will find these were most likely farmed in fresher rather than saltier water.
i've read a few posts here where some say their produce lacks flavour - when i eat trout, bream, marron, coonacs, gilgies that i've got out of fresh water, i prepare the flesh as per normal, then b4 cooking (regardless of frying, boiling, roasting or poaching) i lightly salt the flesh & leave for say 10 mins b4 proceeding. Now i know too much salts not supposed to be good 4 u ect (my blood pressure pills testify to that :oops: ), but i think u may be surprised how the flavour of fresh water produce changes if lightly salted.
for my taste i also salt to some saltwater flesh - eg squid for example - clean tubes, cut rings or strips ( i prefer stips that have been scored one side) add garlic & salt to the water, bring to the boil, drop in flesh & remove after i min after the water re-boils. remember ALWAYS drop any seafood u boil into ice water immeadiately after getting it out of boiling water, that sets the flavour regardless if it was grown in fresh or salt water.
so if u find a lack of flavour in home grown creatures not quite to your taste, try salting some portions b4 cooking & see if u like the flavour better.
cheers ST

Advertisement