All times are UTC + 8 hours

PostPosted: Jul 24th, '14, 12:14 

Should be some interesting views on this subject.

What credentials are required to become an Aquaponic consultant?

Consultant.
con·sul·tant (kn-sltnt)
n.
1. One who gives expert or professional advice.
2. One who consults another.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I would assume a consultant for something, no matter what it is, is a proffessional in that field. Im not good at analogies so heres a poor attempt. Analogy: If I was new to formula one racing and wanted to decide what tyres to put on my car, I would see a proffessional in this field, someone with vast experience and knowledge... or... If I wanted to become a prawn farmer, I would seek proffessional expertise. Both would have risks and without proper consultation it could be costly or failures could occur.

The raw basics of Aquaponics is easily understood but everything after that is open to exteme amounts of variables and outcomes. Because AP requires a range of skill sets it becomes more complex the further you delve into it.

Plants: Nutrient requirements, sun and shade requirements, pests and diseases..etc

Fish: Fishkeeping skills, oxygen requirements, water quality, diseases and treatments.. etc

System design: Types, layouts, pumps, piping, flow, volumes, aeration, structural, BSA..etc

Commercial: Experience in running or involved in building a successful operation.

You could build and run an aquaponic system successfuly with only a handful of the above pieces of knowledge and you could definately assist people in building and running a system with only parts of the above skill sets. We all do it here within the forum every day.

But are we all consultants?