All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 95 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sep 5th, '12, 15:07 
Offline
Almost divorced
Almost divorced

Joined: Mar 21st, '12, 11:42
Posts: 1358
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Bendigo, Victoria
Mac's are definitely hackable - they have malware that installs the Sanctimonious virus that travels along that proprietary cable and into the end user, causing regular bursts of prideful, 'I've got a Mac' to try to counteract the sinking realisation that they've paid double the price for a less able computer than the billion PC users are using everywhere... Image

Or you could do this... http://www.telephonesales.com/sales-management/greatest-prank-call-ever-tommabe-com-murder-scene/ ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
    Advertisement
 
PostPosted: Sep 5th, '12, 16:26 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Nov 6th, '11, 10:04
Posts: 5100
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Humans err, I Arrr!
Location: Chula Vista, CA, USA
:headbang: :headbang: :headbang: :headbang:

_________________
What answers I can question for you?

My Patio System

My Indoor System

No single drop of rain believes it is responsible for the flood.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 5th, '12, 17:11 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God
User avatar

Joined: Nov 3rd, '07, 10:30
Posts: 2307
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Only after 3 coffees
Location: Happy Valley, Adelaide, SA,Australia.
Wonder if he has applied for another job, certainly was not his day

_________________
The Only Stupid Question is the One Not Asked

BackYard Aquaponics
ccBear's First System

BackYard Farming
CcBear's Dunbyu Gardens


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sep 6th, '12, 20:11 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God
User avatar

Joined: Oct 16th, '11, 06:12
Posts: 2019
Gender: Male
Are you human?: 0110010110
Location: Brisbane, qld
Clicking that link gave me malware... (Exploit:Win32/Pdfjsc.YN)

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jan 22nd, '13, 20:42 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: May 6th, '11, 12:06
Posts: 12195
Gender: Male
Location: Northern NSW
Ive got an issue where my puter really struggles with threads that have youtube vids in them. Ive done all the normal crap like delete browser history, cookies etc etc.

Any idea's please?

_________________
~2010/2011~
~2012/2013~
~2014~
~Backyard farming~


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jan 22nd, '13, 20:47 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God
User avatar

Joined: Dec 10th, '11, 15:03
Posts: 2089
Gender: Male
Are you human?: What is human?
Location: Perth Hills
Change to linux... ;)

What is it doing? Slow to load, lag?

_________________
Aquarium System
IBC System
Blog


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jan 23rd, '13, 02:43 
Offline
In need of a life
In need of a life

Joined: Oct 26th, '11, 10:29
Posts: 1708
Gender: Male
Are you human?: super
Location: Australia, NSW, Sydney
If its just youtube? are you sure it's not ur interwebs connection? Have you exceeded your monthly download and been capped to a lower speed?

Otherwise, every couple of years with windows I like to gather up all the important docs on a USB drive, wipe the whole computer, and reinstall.

The problem is that so many stupid little programs and services running in the background start building up and slowing things down.

If you don't want to reinstall do the following:
- go to add-remove programs and get rid of as many things that you can
- restart
- go to the "startup" folder hidden in your start menu and remove stuff you don't need
- go to system admin->services and look for things that look suspicious/useless and turn their startup policies to never start
- get a spyware/adware scanner and delete the little buggers
- defrag hard drive
- install google chrome browser

I find this is the best way to refresh a windows computer without a full reinstall.

I'm not at computer, so the names of the some of the dialogs and settings are not exact.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jan 23rd, '13, 03:17 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God
User avatar

Joined: Dec 10th, '11, 15:03
Posts: 2089
Gender: Male
Are you human?: What is human?
Location: Perth Hills
I am pretty sure Charlie uses a mac DrLuke....

_________________
Aquarium System
IBC System
Blog


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jan 23rd, '13, 05:53 
Offline
Almost divorced
Almost divorced

Joined: Mar 21st, '12, 11:42
Posts: 1358
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Bendigo, Victoria
rsevs3 wrote:
I am pretty sure Charlie uses a mac DrLuke....

In that case there is only the normal Mac-problems solution for him...



Time for a new Mac. :lol: :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jan 23rd, '13, 06:47 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: May 6th, '11, 12:06
Posts: 12195
Gender: Male
Location: Northern NSW
Yea Ive got a stinking Mac. :(

Internet connection is good, still 300 odd gig download left. It only seems to be youtube, even when I go to youtube it struggles/slows/stalls/lags etc.

Whats linux rsevs?

Might be time to invest in some kind of mac cleaner thingy....... or use it as an anchor.

_________________
~2010/2011~
~2012/2013~
~2014~
~Backyard farming~


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jan 23rd, '13, 07:11 
Offline
Almost divorced
Almost divorced

Joined: Mar 21st, '12, 11:42
Posts: 1358
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Bendigo, Victoria
What to clean - http://www.macworld.com/article/1158659/springclean.html
http://macpaw.com/cleanmymac

Also try going to [System Prefs] [Network] click on your network in top left, click [Advanced] then [DNS] then click the [+] button at bottom, then add in both 4.2.2.1 and 4.2.2.1 then [Apply] etc. Try you Youtubes again.

(4.2.2.1 --> 4.2.2.6 are public fast DNS servers)

Another possibility is your Hard Disk has less than 10% of space left. Both OS and Win require at least 10% of the disk to run well - and Youtube files cache to your disk... If you have a 300GB drive and only 20GB free, it sounds a lot but the system needs more.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jan 23rd, '13, 07:21 
Offline
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Jan 2nd, '12, 08:23
Posts: 239
Location: YANBEBUP, City of Cockburn
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Western Australia, AUSTRALIA
My mac never struggles with utube.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jan 23rd, '13, 07:23 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God
User avatar

Joined: Dec 10th, '11, 15:03
Posts: 2089
Gender: Male
Are you human?: What is human?
Location: Perth Hills
I find Ubuntu to be very good for new comers.

Loads of help on the net, but there will be a learning curve involved. Like anything new though.

Might be time to just back up anything important and reinstall OS.

_________________
Aquarium System
IBC System
Blog


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jan 23rd, '13, 07:45 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: May 6th, '11, 12:06
Posts: 12195
Gender: Male
Location: Northern NSW
Thanks, Ill give a shot when I get home tonight.

_________________
~2010/2011~
~2012/2013~
~2014~
~Backyard farming~


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jan 26th, '13, 04:43 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sep 29th, '11, 12:55
Posts: 12
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: East Central Indiana, USA
O.K., so I'm working away on my iMac reading posts like this one.

1st line of defense - even on a Mac ( actually any computer linked to the world ) you should NOT be using your Administrator account to browse the Web. Set up a personal account to do that and use the Administrator just to ADMINISTER YOUR COMPUTER - like installing programs, settings, etc.

2nd line of defense - Buy a HARDWARE ROUTER that is FIREWALL capable ( better than a software firewall) and insert it between your computer and your Modem. Make sure and WRITE DOWN all of the settings. You will need to supply a home style IP ADDRESS (they start with, or rather are similar to this - 192.168.1.1 ). You will also be setting up an ID and a P/W for the Router. Sounds complicated, but, if you follow the written instructions you should be O.K., especially if you take it slow and WRITE DOWN everything you have to input to set up the Router/Firewall.

3rd line of defense - Clean up your SYSTEM and do a BACKUP regularly.

Then, when you get calls like those ask to speak to a Supervisor and when you get that one ask for that person's Supervisor. When it gets to a stopping point ask for the name and address of the President of their company because you want to write him a letter. That usually takes you OFF of their call list!

Good Luck!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 95 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Portal by phpBB3 Portal © phpBB Türkiye
[ Time : 0.092s | 18 Queries | GZIP : Off ]