All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 59 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mar 4th, '15, 10:00 
Offline
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor

Joined: Mar 1st, '15, 03:25
Posts: 191
Location: US - 95864
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Sacramento (Arden), California, US
Johny5 wrote:
(snip)The trout are fine so far. 26C max in the tanks today with a DO of about 7.25 for most of the day. Once I increased the water flow this afternoon it went down to 6.8. But no trout looking for air.(snip)


Are (were) the trout still taking feed at 26C?

_________________
Revised IBC-based system
First system design


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
    Advertisement
 
PostPosted: Mar 4th, '15, 11:23 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Feb 9th, '13, 15:36
Posts: 423
Images: 0
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: Gawler South, South Australia
The problem with Trout is they will feed all the time. On hot days I do not feed them. So far I have a batch of Fingerlings from September last year still in one of the tanks. If I can keep them happy then they will have a long grow out till November / December.

_________________
Bernhard

System MKII
System thread

Datalogger

220L system II


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mar 4th, '15, 11:34 
Offline
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor

Joined: Mar 1st, '15, 03:25
Posts: 191
Location: US - 95864
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Sacramento (Arden), California, US
Sorry for taking the thread off-topic. Are these rainbow trout, Salmo gairdneri?

_________________
Revised IBC-based system
First system design


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mar 4th, '15, 12:03 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Feb 9th, '13, 15:36
Posts: 423
Images: 0
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: Gawler South, South Australia
I have never asked. I get my Trout from the South Australian Fly Fishing Association usually in September, they are no more that about 1 - 2 cm in length. They source the eggs from Tasmania, Victoria and NSW according to their web site.

_________________
Bernhard

System MKII
System thread

Datalogger

220L system II


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mar 4th, '15, 14:02 
Offline
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor

Joined: Mar 1st, '15, 03:25
Posts: 191
Location: US - 95864
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Sacramento (Arden), California, US
Ah, probably not rainbows then. They usually stop feeding at 20C and die off if the water stays much above 25C.

_________________
Revised IBC-based system
First system design


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mar 4th, '15, 14:30 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Feb 9th, '13, 15:36
Posts: 423
Images: 0
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: Gawler South, South Australia
Any thing is possible as they market them as Rainbow Trout as last year they also sold Brown Trout. They look like Trout and taste great that is all I worry about. I have also had some from Tooperang Trout farm and are the same, as they just keep feeding.

Not like my Silver Perch, two years old now so this year they will come out but I will not get them again.

_________________
Bernhard

System MKII
System thread

Datalogger

220L system II


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mar 4th, '15, 14:44 
Offline
A posting God
A posting God

Joined: Sep 15th, '07, 09:09
Posts: 3706
Location: WA
Gender: Male
As far as I am aware the WA rainbow trout can handle slightly higher temps not sure about those in SA.
Never kept them so I'll leave it up to someone who has. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mar 9th, '15, 22:08 
Offline
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Jan 31st, '13, 22:27
Posts: 241
Location: Geraldton
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Most of the time
Location: Geraldton West Aus
Gday Johny5
Thanks for sharing your Data Logger build. I've been looking into this kind of thing for some time. It sure beats manually writing data in a log book. I've never had anything to do with Arduino before, so have been doing a bit of research into it before building anything. I'm now semi confident that I can build it & with the code you have kindly provided I should be able to get the thing to run.
So now I'm purchasing the components from Ebay most are straight forward : Ethernet shield, Real Time Clock Module, Temp Probes, 16x2 LCD.
The prototype board is a bit harder to work out would this be suitable ? http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/New-Prototyping-Prototype-Shield-ProtoShield-With-Mini-Breadboard-Arduino-/400780925541?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_15&hash=item5d50679a65 & what type of resistor are required ?
Thanks :wave:
GTK

_________________
GTK :wave1:
http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=26139


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mar 9th, '15, 22:49 
Offline
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor

Joined: Mar 1st, '15, 03:25
Posts: 191
Location: US - 95864
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Sacramento (Arden), California, US
I've usually seen the DS18B20 sensors use a 4.7 k-ohm resistor as a pullup. There are some hardware tutorials on Adafruit. Although they are using a Raspberry Pi instead of Arduino, the wiring is the same. See the DS18B20 page on Adafruit for more info and links to the tutorials.

_________________
Revised IBC-based system
First system design


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mar 10th, '15, 05:52 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Feb 9th, '13, 15:36
Posts: 423
Images: 0
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: Gawler South, South Australia
Hi gtkmarine

As Jim said you will need a 4.7 k-ohm resistor as a pullup. As I use just one resistor for 6 Temp probes I had to increase its size. As I had a 3 Watt 4.7K resistor on hand I used that. It may be over kill but it was what I had on hand.

For the prototype shield that one will do to test and experiment with. I just walked into Jay Car and purchased a board that was in stock to experiment with but I cannot remember what it was.

I need to get back to mine as I have more updates for it.

_________________
Bernhard

System MKII
System thread

Datalogger

220L system II


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mar 10th, '15, 18:18 
Offline
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Jan 31st, '13, 22:27
Posts: 241
Location: Geraldton
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Most of the time
Location: Geraldton West Aus
Thanks :thumbright:
Have ordered all the components, now just waiting for them to turn up in the mail before the build.
Ill keep watching this tread with interest.
:wave1: GTK

_________________
GTK :wave1:
http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=26139


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mar 10th, '15, 19:21 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Feb 9th, '13, 15:36
Posts: 423
Images: 0
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: Gawler South, South Australia
I guess I had better find some time for the update.

_________________
Bernhard

System MKII
System thread

Datalogger

220L system II


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jan 11th, '17, 22:06 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Jan 11th, '17, 20:37
Posts: 5
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Brazil, Minas Gerais
Dear Johny5

I tried to assemble this datalogger system to use in a laboratory using basically the same parts except for the LCD shield (I used a generic one without keypad) but I couldn’t manage to make it work. The RTC keeps given me errors.

What library did you use? Can you post a link?

I am new to programing and to Arduinos but I am very interested in this project.

Thanks for sharing it!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jan 11th, '17, 22:25 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Jan 11th, '17, 20:37
Posts: 5
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Brazil, Minas Gerais
Dear Johny5

I tried to assemble this datalogger system to use in a laboratory using basically the same parts except for the LCD shield (I used a generic one without keypad) but I couldn’t manage to make it work. The RTC keeps given me errors.

What library did you use? Can you post a link?

I am new to programing and to Arduinos but I am very interested in this project.

Thanks for sharing it!


Attachments:
File comment: First attempt. RTC is not working
Arquivo 11-01-17 12 03 46.jpg
Arquivo 11-01-17 12 03 46.jpg [ 119.8 KiB | Viewed 5386 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Jan 16th, '17, 05:58 
Offline
Bordering on Legend
Bordering on Legend
User avatar

Joined: Feb 9th, '13, 15:36
Posts: 423
Images: 0
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Yes
Location: Gawler South, South Australia
Hi felipe

Sorry for the slow reply. Busy time here at the moment. The lib I use is "RTClib" it should be easy to find on the net.

I could not see your RTC in the photo. This the RTC I used http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/170910326110 ... 1436.l2649 with the above lib.

I wil check back later to night ans see if I can provide more information.

_________________
Bernhard

System MKII
System thread

Datalogger

220L system II


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 59 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Portal by phpBB3 Portal © phpBB Türkiye
[ Time : 0.106s | 20 Queries | GZIP : Off ]