All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 78 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Nov 18th, '07, 20:39 
Offline
In need of a life
In need of a life
User avatar

Joined: Aug 13th, '06, 14:43
Posts: 1854
Gender: Male
Location: Narre Warren, VIC,OZ Earth
am currently using a set of my tubs as a biofilter.....both top n bottom are filled with gravel with an air gap inbetween......sortta doin the job but need to polish the water better......maybe something other than the gravel lol

_________________
"have you ever seen a one legged man try to dance his way free...if you've seen a one legged man you've seen me"


Top
 Profile  
 
    Advertisement
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Nov 18th, '07, 20:40 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mar 18th, '06, 09:41
Posts: 9072
Location: Brisbane
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Brisbane
I guess the roots in a planted GB help with that polishing BK??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Nov 18th, '07, 20:42 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mar 18th, '06, 09:41
Posts: 9072
Location: Brisbane
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Brisbane
BK - for my in shed biofilters, I place some filter wool under the inlet to the biofilter. The crud that builds up on this can be rinsed out regularly (preferably in system water so as not to kill the bacteria that will populate the wool also).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Nov 18th, '07, 20:43 
Offline
In need of a life
In need of a life
User avatar

Joined: Aug 13th, '06, 14:43
Posts: 1854
Gender: Male
Location: Narre Warren, VIC,OZ Earth
yeah probably would lol.....i might try the layered method like stevo's dads.....want to get something sorted and as soon as i find out whether i got the lease here for another yr i will get stuck into getting a trout tank running...just dont want to have to provide lighting for plants in a gb/biofilter so i can keep the environment nice n cool for the trout "all" year lol

_________________
"have you ever seen a one legged man try to dance his way free...if you've seen a one legged man you've seen me"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Nov 18th, '07, 20:44 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mar 18th, '06, 09:41
Posts: 9072
Location: Brisbane
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Brisbane
see my post above BK - got it in while you were posting.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Nov 18th, '07, 20:45 
Offline
In need of a life
In need of a life
User avatar

Joined: Aug 13th, '06, 14:43
Posts: 1854
Gender: Male
Location: Narre Warren, VIC,OZ Earth
your too quick amigo lol......that should work a treat

_________________
"have you ever seen a one legged man try to dance his way free...if you've seen a one legged man you've seen me"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Nov 18th, '07, 20:47 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mar 22nd, '06, 00:28
Posts: 12757
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES- kinda
Location: Melb Vic OZ
BK, your water is plenty sexy. if you're talking about the slight cloudiness then thats probably just a bacterial bloom while it cycles properly. Anyone who has cycled an indoor aquarium from scratch might remember that milky looking water that all of a sudden clears up one night.

_________________
The only tool you need is a paperclip


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Nov 18th, '07, 20:48 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mar 18th, '06, 09:41
Posts: 9072
Location: Brisbane
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Brisbane
The crap builds up on it pretty quick for sure. If you had no problem with transferance between systems - you could rinse the crap out into your outdoor system so as not to lose the nutes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Nov 18th, '07, 21:05 
Offline
Almost divorced
Almost divorced
User avatar

Joined: Feb 25th, '07, 21:27
Posts: 1102
Location: Middle Swan, Perth ,W.A
Gender: Male
lol by all accounts that is a good thing steve :P


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Nov 18th, '07, 21:07 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mar 22nd, '06, 00:28
Posts: 12757
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES- kinda
Location: Melb Vic OZ
the KNO3?

finally some one got it! ;)

_________________
The only tool you need is a paperclip


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Nov 19th, '07, 04:34 
Offline
Spam Assassin (Be afraid!)
Spam Assassin     (Be afraid!)
User avatar

Joined: Aug 24th, '06, 11:50
Posts: 10076
Location: Townsville
Gender: Female
Location: home
Steve, I was waiting for a response at the top of the page ;)

_________________
.
.
.
................................................................. . Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Nov 19th, '07, 15:13 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mar 22nd, '06, 00:28
Posts: 12757
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES- kinda
Location: Melb Vic OZ
che?

_________________
The only tool you need is a paperclip


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Nov 19th, '07, 15:32 
Offline
In need of a life
In need of a life
User avatar

Joined: Aug 13th, '06, 14:43
Posts: 1854
Gender: Male
Location: Narre Warren, VIC,OZ Earth
? as above

_________________
"have you ever seen a one legged man try to dance his way free...if you've seen a one legged man you've seen me"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mar 1st, '08, 06:44 
Offline
Xtreme Contributor
Xtreme Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Feb 20th, '08, 05:46
Posts: 179
Location: Texas
Gender: Male
I have seen similar filters done on large saltwater systems but they place them on the return line to the tank. I don't see why it wouldn't work on a AP system. Here is a basic description.

The basic system is a five gallon bucket that has a lid that will seal the top. Pop in 2 bulkhead fittings near the top of the bucket on opposite sides of the bucket. Fill the bucket 3/4 full(just below bulkheads) of medium to fine sand put a bit of course sand on top attach to a pipe that allows water to flow across the top of the sand. Outflow should be equal to inflow and about 150-200gph.
It takes a couple weeks to get established like all micro-organism filters but really will pull alot of nitrates out of the water column. Couldn't find a good picture to add will keep an eye out for one.

Robert


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mar 9th, '08, 16:15 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Jul 19th, '07, 16:56
Posts: 31
Location: Coonamble
Gender: Male
This nitrate filter doesn't look too hard to make. I think it is charcoal in the first chamber, sulfur in the second chamber and sand in the last chamber.


Attachments:
nitrate filter (Medium).jpg
nitrate filter (Medium).jpg [ 42.14 KiB | Viewed 1398 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 78 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Portal by phpBB3 Portal © phpBB Türkiye
[ Time : 0.582s | 18 Queries | GZIP : Off ]