All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 148 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: no holes overflows
PostPosted: Jun 29th, '10, 08:06 
Offline
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
Seriously, this cant be healthy.
User avatar

Joined: Dec 6th, '07, 01:13
Posts: 10347
Images: 0
Location: central FL
Gender: Female
Are you human?: YES at least mostly
Location: USA, Florida, Yalaha
Yep this thread is full of notes about how the no-holes overflows and water bridges require re-priming or removal of the air bubbles that can lock it and stop them from working. There are several methods listed in this thread for dealing with these problems but they all need to be checked regularly to make sure they are still flowing.

_________________
Aquaponic Lynx
Main System
300 gallon System
Tower System
PeePonics


Top
 Profile  
 
    Advertisement
 
 Post subject: Re: no holes overflows
PostPosted: May 26th, '11, 07:08 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Apr 11th, '11, 15:36
Posts: 18
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: PHILIPPINES
Does your NoHoleOverflow restarts itself after power interruption?

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: no holes overflows
PostPosted: May 26th, '11, 21:37 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec 20th, '07, 04:29
Posts: 711
Images: 23
Gender: Female
Are you human?: Take me 2 ur leader
Location: Minnesota, US
If it has remained primed, and no air bubbles have gotten in, then yes, it will continue after a power outage.

_________________
º Karen Swanberg, of
Howling Moose Gardens:
BYAP thread | Webpage | Blog | Photo Album 2014 | Twitter


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
 Post subject: Re: no holes overflows
PostPosted: May 26th, '11, 22:13 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec 3rd, '08, 21:46
Posts: 631
Location: Eastford, CT
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Eastford, CT USA
The one I have posted in here somewhere with the small siphon tube in it works great. If the power is out for a couple of hours, the tank level will eventually go down a couple of inches and break the siphon.

It's critical to make sure you prime the siphon again when you get power or you'll have a huge mess. :shifty:

_________________
-Rob T (Web4Deb)
Web Site: http://www.ExpandedShale.com
Video Tour: http://www.youtube.com/web4deb
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/BigelowBrook
Blog: http://web4deb.blogspot.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: no holes overflows
PostPosted: Jun 2nd, '11, 13:50 
Offline
Legend Member
Legend Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec 20th, '07, 04:29
Posts: 711
Images: 23
Gender: Female
Are you human?: Take me 2 ur leader
Location: Minnesota, US
Mine has U bends on the ends, so the water never drains out and thus is 'self-priming.'

Image

Full sized pic here.

_________________
º Karen Swanberg, of
Howling Moose Gardens:
BYAP thread | Webpage | Blog | Photo Album 2014 | Twitter


Top
 Profile Personal album  
 
 Post subject: Re: no holes overflows
PostPosted: Jun 15th, '11, 20:50 
Offline
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Joined: Jan 9th, '11, 01:20
Posts: 53
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: Paraiba, Brazil
Hi All,

I've been giving this issue some thought recently. The inverted U bridge tank overflow's weakness is losing prime.

I haven't seen any mention of this but, if it has already been discussed, apologies. What if we prime it with our tank inflow. I have seen aeration venturis mentioned on this forum. This concept is generally know as a 'jet pump'. In aircraft fuel systems they are commonly used to distribute/ equalize fuel in a number of tanks using one pump. I'm sure you can see where I'm heading with this.

My thinking so far is that we could have our tank (GB or FT, or whatever level we are trying to limit) inlet at the maximum level- ie high tide level. The inflow is essentially a jet pump to our bridge overflow. Something like a T, or + fitting. So in normal operation it would just flow into the air, ie our unfilled GB. But when the water level reaches the level of our jet pump, the 'backpressure' of water in our jet pump would prime our overflow U tube.

The level of this overflow jet pump, I would imagine should normally be slightly higher than the normal high level of our GB, ie higher than our normal siphon start level. So under normal conditions it would not operate. However, say for example, when our siphon didn't function or our regular drain was blocked etc the jet pump overflow would kick in.

The potential problems/ limitations I can imagine are-
1. a sufficient flow velocity into the GB is required, so a sufficient pump pressure is required,
2. the flow velocity can be increased by using a smaller outlet, but this will increase restriction, power requirement etc. This also makes a blockage more of a possibility.

Perhaps having a T'd/ dual tank inlet with one branch a normal open outlet and the other a jet pump overflow. More complexity and expense perhaps? Maybe still better than the options?

Depending on the head height of the overflow U tube, ie 'freeboard' height of the tank would determine the flow required through the jet pump to prime the overflow. Generally quite a small flow should be sufficient.

Just thoughts, I'm sure there are people here with far more practical experience here.

Comments suggestions please.

Cheers All.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: no holes overflows
PostPosted: Oct 10th, '11, 02:19 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Oct 4th, '11, 05:34
Posts: 44
Location: KC USA
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: USA Missouri
Can you draw me a picture? :)

_________________
I know nothing i see nothing i hear nothing.

Most of my knowledge is speculation

-chuck


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: no holes overflows
PostPosted: Sep 12th, '12, 23:50 
Offline

Joined: Sep 10th, '12, 01:45
Posts: 8
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Would this type of design (which would have a single hole at the top of a tank, I admit), which ads an 'emergency' overflow channel re-prime the system if it was ever engaged?

If it's not clear, basically it has an overflow pipe that feeds into the top of the 'T', so that if the siphon breaks, and water rises too high, the overflow kicks in to save my floors...(indoor setup)....thoughts? feedback? warnings of doom?

Image

edit: hmm...sorry about the oversized image, not sure why it's not resizing...and even more sorry about the misspelling in venturi ... :/ pleading exhaustion


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: no holes overflows
PostPosted: Sep 13th, '12, 01:22 
Offline
Almost divorced
Almost divorced
User avatar

Joined: Oct 17th, '07, 12:03
Posts: 1492
Location: Sonoma
Gender: Male
Are you human?: Y: I have affadavit
Location: Sonoma, California, USA
To the best of my knowledge, there is no way to automatically restart a no-holes overflow. The most common problem I have had is tiny bubbles building up in the highest point so that, over a period of days or weeks, the water level slowly rises and overflows. I usually have a standpipe, transparent if possible, at the highest point to allow more air to build up before creating trouble. I also have a valve so I can suck any air out when I see it building up.

_________________
This has been a test life. It is only a test. If this had an actual life you would have been given instructions on where to go and what to do.

WARNING: I suffer from ideaphoria. This post may contain untested ideas, errors, and excessive enthusiasm.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: no holes overflows
PostPosted: Sep 13th, '12, 03:18 
Offline
In need of a life
In need of a life

Joined: Apr 8th, '10, 23:51
Posts: 1983
Location: Fairport Harbor, OH
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: fairport harbor ohio-on lake erie
i had 2 no-hole-overflows when i was using 3 55gallon glass tanks, used 1.5" pvc.. after fiiguring them out, and making them stable on the tanks, they were fine for 6 months.. they probably would have been ok for longer, but i changed my system

_________________
my basement system;
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=8354


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: no holes overflows
PostPosted: Sep 13th, '12, 07:24 
Offline

Joined: Sep 10th, '12, 01:45
Posts: 8
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Thank you both for the feedback...

Keith - I don't suppose you have any pics of the old setup? It seems some have zero problems once they're 'locked in place' and setup - while others say they're hopeless...quite the mixed messages :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: no holes overflows
PostPosted: Sep 14th, '12, 22:17 
Offline
In need of a life
In need of a life

Joined: Apr 8th, '10, 23:51
Posts: 1983
Location: Fairport Harbor, OH
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: fairport harbor ohio-on lake erie
about 2/3rds of the way down the page
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=8354

_________________
my basement system;
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=8354


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: no holes overflows
PostPosted: Sep 14th, '12, 22:57 
Offline

Joined: Sep 10th, '12, 01:45
Posts: 8
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Thank you!

What do you think happened to require the reset of these?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: no holes overflows
PostPosted: Sep 14th, '12, 23:38 
Offline
In need of a life
In need of a life

Joined: Apr 8th, '10, 23:51
Posts: 1983
Location: Fairport Harbor, OH
Gender: Male
Are you human?: yes
Location: fairport harbor ohio-on lake erie
once, i had an airstone to close to the inlet, and got air in one of the pipes,, it just slowed it down but didn't stop it.. fish knocked them around a couple times.. after i secured everything they were fine for quite some time, but i always had that worry in the back of my head..

_________________
my basement system;
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=8354


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: no holes overflows
PostPosted: Sep 15th, '12, 08:58 
Offline

Joined: Sep 10th, '12, 01:45
Posts: 8
Gender: Male
Are you human?: YES
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Gotcha.

Do you think that 'emergency overflow' drain I added and connected at the top of the T would re-prime it/get it going again if worse came to worse?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 148 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Portal by phpBB3 Portal © phpBB Türkiye
[ Time : 0.586s | 18 Queries | GZIP : Off ]