All times are UTC + 8 hours

Post subject: Wintering the system
PostPosted: Dec 25th, '20, 00:33 

Are you human?: YES
I am new to this and I am sure this topic has already been discussed but I don't see it.

I'm about to start my 1st system but I need some help knowing what to do in the winter.
I live in zone 6b in the USA.
-I have been reading about where to locate the system and at this point I will have to put it outside. My winters do get cold enough that the water running through the grow bed and trickling down will most likely freeze. Do I just shut that part down and add an aerator to the fish tank?
Thank you for your help.

Advertisement

Post subject: Re: Wintering the system
PostPosted: Dec 26th, '20, 15:38 

Really depends on how cold it gets there. Here in Oregon I can leave the system running with the grow beds fully exposed and it normally won't freeze (Zone 8b minimum between 10 and 20 F and it rarely gets down in the 20s for more than a week at a time in my location). The top of the grow beds may be iced or have snow but water is still flowing underneath. My system has gotten into the 30s F (but still above freezing) and that's when I get the stock tank heater going.

Depending on how your grow beds are setup you might be able to cover them with arches and plastic film (like a garden row cover). If you have enough sunlight that could keep it warm enough that it doesn't freeze. If this won't work then I'd shut down the beds and drain the pipes, leaving the fish tank as the only running part. An aerator might keep the fish tank from freezing completely or you may want to insulate it and get a stock tank heater just to keep it from freezing (some aeration is a good idea anyway - either by water movement or an aerator).